February 10, 2023

The Cryptix Group has the first CCSS-certified auditor.

Cryptix is the first company in the EU and Switzerland to have a certified CryptoCurrency Security Standard (CCSS) Auditor.

Alexandre Horvath, Chief Information Security Officer and Data Protection Officer of Cryptix, received the CCSS Auditor certification from the CryptoCurrency Certification Consortium (C4) in early February 2023.

„Being the first company in the EU and Switzerland with a CCSS Auditor is a win for Cryptix and its customers. Most importantly, this certification and the associated expertise enable companies to better protect the digital assets of their customers.
Alexandre Horvath, CISO, Cryptix AG 

But what exactly is the CCSS certification? And, more importantly, how can this certification help companies protect their digital assets?

CCSS in Brief

CCSS is a set of standard requirements for securing cryptocurrency systems, including exchanges, web applications, and the storage and handling of cryptographic keys. The CCSS certification is intended to complement existing information security standards such as ISO 27001:2022, expanding guidelines and best practices for cryptocurrencies and blockchain.

CCSS standards required for certification include knowledge of aspects such as:

  • Generating secure keys and seeds and their corresponding guidelines
  • Procedures in the event of compromise of secure keys or seeds
  • Creation of wallets and the storage of secure keys
  • Security testing and audits
  • Data sanitization
  • Ethics

Detailed information can be found at the following link: Details | CryptoCurrency Certification Consortium (C4) (cryptoconsortium.org) 

CCSS certifies companies at 3 levels:

  • Level 1: Self-Custody
    A cryptocurrency system with sole control (Self-Custody) over the private keys that control its own funds. However, the system has no control over customer funds.

  • Level 2: CCSS Qualified Service Provider (QSP)
    A cryptocurrency system that only meets the requirements it can control and offers these as cryptocurrency services.

  • Level 3: CCSS Full System
    A cryptocurrency system that meets all applicable CCSS requirements.

The CryptoCurrency Certification Consortium (C4) is a non-profit organization that offers certifications for entities providing services related to cryptocurrencies. C4, relying on trust in “trustless technology,” has established standards that balance openness, privacy, and security.

Certified auditors can help companies ensure that their systems align with best practices and are protected against all types of cyberattacks and other potential risks. With the first certified auditor in the EU and Switzerland, Cryptix is in a unique position to assist companies with their IT, cybersecurity, and data protection requirements.

We are proud to offer our customers this level of expertise.

Congratulations, Alexandre!